top of page
  • Writer's pictureMGandtheMagic

#42: Lilo & Stitch (2002) 🏝️ #DisneyVaultChallenge

Updated: Sep 17, 2021

"This is my family. I found it, all on my own. It's little, and broken, but still good. Yeah, still good." -- Stitch



Initial thoughts before viewing: I don't know why, but I never saw Lilo & Stitch in theaters. In fact, I didn't actually sit down to watch this movie from beginning to end until I was well into adulthood.


If you have never seen Lilo & Stitch or need a refresher, here is a link to the movie's Disney Wiki page where you can read the plot summary.



Highlights:


-Lilo & Stitch gets props for its original story It's rare that any movie is 100% original, but this one is. Chris Sanders, a head storyboard artist at Disney Feature Animation, was approached to pitch an idea in the mid-1990s. Sanders had created the character of Stitch in 1985 for an unsuccessful children's book pitch and developed a treatment for an animated feature featuring the character.



-Lilo has some devastatingly hilarious moments. Stitch tends to steal the show here, but don't forget about Lilo's killer one-liners ("leave me alone to die"). She also knocks the stuffing out of another girl who calls her crazy right at the beginning of the movie, I moment which I find both hilarious and forever rewatchable.



-Real women have curves. Lilo's sister Nani breaks barriers. She looks like a real woman with curves and thighs, and I LOVE IT.



-Nani and David's Relationship. David is Nani's *almost* boyfriend. While it's clear that both want more, Nani too focused on trying to raise Lilo to officially be in a romantic relationship. AND DAVID GETS THAT. He doesn't push Nani or make her feel bad. In fact, HE SUPPORTS HER. He helps Nani find a job and spends time with Lilo and Nani when they're feeling down. He's incredibly kind and understanding. Is David the best Disney male character? He'd def make my top ten list.



Disliked:


-All the space stuff. The heart of the story takes place with Lilo in Hawaii. I find the space alien intro and finale sort of displaced and not super interesting.



Random Thoughts I Had While Watching:


-Lilo is obsessed with Pudge the Fish because he controls the weather...and her parents died in a car crash during a rainstorm. She wants to keep Pudge happy so that no one else dies. 😭 Deep cut, Disney.



-Lilo & Stitch is the rare Disney movie that has no clear villain. Rather, Stitch sort of acts like the antagonist for most of the movie. But as his heart softens and he finds his place on Earth, Stitch is revealed to be more of a complicated protagonist.



Closing Thoughts:


Lilo & Stitch is the rare Disney animated feature from the 2000s that was a success both critically and financially. The movie is charming while still maintaining a unique edge and emotional connection with the audience. It's often regarded as Disney's sweetest movie since 1941's Dumbo, another hugely emotional and charming tale.


Personally, I like Lilo & Stitch a lot; but I don't love it like so many other Disney aficionados. One of my biggest problems with the movie is that its inflated and action packed climax brings in too much of the zany cartoon aspect and distracts from the grounded, emotional heart of the story.


And man, does Lilo & Stitch have an emotional heart - sometimes too much. The sweet concept of "ohana" will never be forgotten by anyone who watches this movie. But like with Pinocchio, a movie which sees its protagonist suffer for most of the story, a majority of Lilo & Stich revolves around the fact that Lilo, Nani, and Stitch are all majorly suffering through feelings of abandonment, inadequacy, and fear. While this is all very necessary for the plot and creates a big payoff at the end when things wrap up joyfully, I can't discount the fact that I spend most of the movie anxious and sad about the misery that the characters are in. [Side note: the scene where Stitch falls into the ocean while surfing causes me legit stress]. And for me, I that takes away some of the enjoyment of this otherwise gem of a movie.


The bottom line: Lilo & Stitch is funny, sad, and frankly a little weird - but oh so memorable. If you can get around the deep emotional scars this movie will inflict on you, it's one certainly worth watching again and again.


My Rating: 7.5/10



2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page