top of page
  • Writer's pictureMGandtheMagic

#40: The Emperor's New Groove (2000) 🦙 #DisneyVaultChallenge

“Ah, how shall I do it? Oh, I know. I’ll turn him into a flea, a harmless, little flea, and then I’ll put that flea in a box, and then I’ll put that box inside of another box, and then I’ll mail that box to myself, and when it arrives, I’ll smash it with a hammer! It’s brilliant, brilliant, brilliant, I tell you! Genius, I say!” — Yzma (she probably should have been the emperor, come to think of it...)



Initial thoughts before viewing: I think I saw this movie in theaters, and I remember being pleasantly surprised at how great it was. Over the last few years, it's become a firm favorite of mine for its quotability and memorable characters.


If you have never seen The Emperor's New Groove or need a refresher, here is a link to the movie's Disney Wiki page where you can read the plot summary.



Highlights:


-The unique first-person narration by Kuzco. I've always loved that Kuzco himself proves to be an unreliable (albeit hilarious) narrator. While the audience hears his biased takes on what is happening, we are left to see the actual truth of the situation via the faithful visual representation of the story. Kuzco's narration provides insight to his self-centered character as well as many, many moments of comedic hilarity. One of my personal favorite gags is when Kuzco literally stops the movie to remind the viewers that the story is about him, not Pacha.


-Yzma & Kronk Forever . Does it get any better than Eartha Kitt as Yzma? This villain stands out as both diabolical and fabulous, while her henchman Kronk nearly steals the entire movie. They are the true stars of this movie and a big reason why The Emperor's New Groove is so successful. They lean into the traditional villain tropes like secret labs and murderous plots, but with a fantastic spirit of spoof layered on top. Nearly every line they say is a treasure, as are they. In a fantastic twist, Kronk ends up defecting at the end, and this somehow makes the movie even better. After all, we knew he really wasn't a "bad guy" all along...



Disliked:


-Whitewashing of the voice cast. The setting and culture of The Emperor's New Groove are based on the Inca Empire that developed into what is now modern-day Peru. Minus Eartha Kitt, the entire main voice cast are all white actors (David Spade, John Goodman, Patrick Warburton). Yet again another missed opportunity for Disney to have some real representation in their casting that is reflective of the diversity they are attempting to portray on screen.



Closing Thoughts:


The Emperor's New Groove is an odd duck of a movie. It's almost a spoof of Disney movies, yet it was made by Disney itself. Fittingly, this movie also has one of the most bizarre production histories ever. I highly recommend reading this fantastic article called We’ll Never Make That Kind of Movie Again’ An oral history of The Emperor’s New Groove, a raucous Disney animated film that almost never happened. It's a must-read for any Disney fan (and you'll have a new appreciation for poor, poor Sting).


Although The Emperor's New Groove is not as serious or ambitious as other Disney animated features, the movie imparts a lovely lesson about friendship and humanity's capacity for change. While it may not be as highly regarded or even remembered amongst the Disney canon, what The Emperor's New Groove offers is outrageous and unpretentious fun upon every rewatch. It's one of my personal favorite Disney films, and I have my own fair share of ENG merchandise with some of the movie's best zingers (shirts that proudly say "No touchy!" and "Squeak squeak squeak, squeak, squeaker" are currently hanging in my closet).


There may never be another Disney movie like this frenetic, zany entry, and that's a-okay: The Emperor's New Groove is one of a kind.


My Rating: 9/10



19 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page