top of page
  • Writer's pictureMGandtheMagic

#17: One Hundred and One Dalmatians (1961) đŸŸ #DisneyVaultChallenge

"You idiots! You fools! You imbeciles!" - Cruella de Vil (and me when I see people partying on Instagram without a mask)



Initial thoughts before viewing: One Hundred and One Dalmatians was released in 1961, but if you're a child of the 90s like me, you're also probably pretty familiar with live action adaptation (titled 101 Dalmatians) that came out in 1996.



I generally don't like to talk about the live action adaptations of the Disney animated films since, well, they're pretty terrible (and often unabashed shot for shot remakes). This one, however, is so intertwined with my memories of the animated film, that I had to mention it. [Side note: Maybe it's my kiddie-fog glasses here, but I also remember this live-action movie being really fun? Then again, I could just be remembering the all the nostalgic excitement of getting a new 101 Dalmatians Happy Meal Toy at McDonald's. 😊]



Anywho, I was eager to rewatch the animated version since I had the live-action version taking over in my head for some reason.


If you've never seen the original animated One Hundred and One Dalmatians or need a refresher, here is a link to the movie's Disney Wiki page where you can read the plot summary.



Highlights:


-Scratchy, sketchy style of animation ✏ Now this is probably a controversial opinion, but I for one LIKE and appreciate the rough, ragged production design of this movie. It's a nice change from previous works and a huge contrast the very elegant and refined style of its predecessor, Sleeping Beauty. The black and white Dalmatians in particular look quite striking in this style. On the back end, the reason the animators transitioned to this style of animation was really cost ( they studio was financially strapped after their ambitious Sleepy Beauty project). The animation technique is called Xerography, and if you want to learn more about why and how it was implemented at Disney, check out this article on Oh My Disney.


-Enter: that devil woman 😈 Ah, Cruella De Vil. She's just FUN, amiright? Don't get me wrong: she is definitely sadistic and well, cruel (what kind of person wants to murder and skin puppies?!), but she's a scene stealer and an oh so beloved member of the Disney villains franchise. Somewhat skeletal looking with killer cheekbones to boot, Cruella has this slightly broken down yet glamourous style that sets her apart from all the other characters in the movie. And with a name like Cruella De Vil, she really had no choice but to be a fantastic baddie, right?


-The great Labrador disguise đŸ¶ I've always loved this scene. It's so fun and cleverly builds the tension to the impending car chase and climax of the story. Not to mention, it's incredibly satisfying to see the dogs outwit the supposedly smarter humans.



Random thoughts I had while Watching:


-Two dog movies within 6 years? 🐕 I love me some puppies, but I find it odd that Disney chose to release both Lady and the Tramp and One Hundred and One Dalmatians within a measly 6 years of each other. Thematically, both movies are told from the point of view of a canine protagonist attempting to make sense of the mystifying world of humans. The stories and subject matter are just too similar, and I don't really understand why these were put into production so close together.



-Slap happy Cruella (literally) ✋ Cruella gets what Cruella wants, but I didn't remember her being quite so physically abusive. There's one scene in particular where Cruella slaps the crap out of her henchmen, Horace and Jasper, and it's pretty shocking...and yet funny? I mean, I definitely laughed...(am I terrible?)


-Horace is always right ✔ While Horace is portrayed as the less intelligent of the crook-for-hire Baduns, it's really funny to see that HE'S ACTUALLY RIGHT at least 2 critical times in the search for the escaped puppies. Jasper, the supposed "brains of the operation," always dismisses Horace's CORRECT ideas about what the puppies may have done ("Oh Horace, you idiot, dog's ain't that smart"). DOGS ARE THAT SMART, IDIOT.


-Why would Anita ever be friends with someone like Cruella? 😕 Cruella is introduced as Anita's "dearly devoted old school mate," but this doesn't make much sense. Anita is seemingly modest, kind, and very caring, especially when it comes to dogs. She's basically the antithesis of Cruella in every way. Cruella meanly teases Anita about her marriage to simple Roger and their "horrid little house." By the end of her abrupt visit, Anita is visibly exhausted by Cruella's aggressive and superficial attitude. If they are old school mates, it makes sense that Cruella may have changed over time, but even this is pretty dramatic. And why stay friends with her when she's clearly turned into...well, a devil woman?! It's time to cut her out, Antia - you don't need toxic people in your life!


Closing Thoughts:


-One Hundred and One Dalmatians is charming and full of nostalgia

This movie has a lot of funny moments and endearing animal characters (my favorite is Sergeant Tibbs, a courageous and resourceful tabby cat that helps rescue the puppies). It's not revolutionary or award winning, but I do wish it got more love and recognition. One Hundred and One Dalmatians a solid movie and rewatching it after all these years made me smile.



My Rating: 5.5/10

 

9 - Almost perfect / Exceptional đŸ„°

8 - Great / Well-crafted 😁

7 - Good / Noteworthy 😊

6 - Above average / Memorable 🙂

5 - Solidly average 😐

4 - Mixed feelings / Mediocre 😕

3 - Uninteresting / Struggle bus đŸ„±

2 - Barely watchable 😡

1 - Failure / Why is this a thing? đŸ’©

19 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page